# **MINI-MINUTES**

## May 2, 2022

I would like to begin by acknowledging that we are in Treaty One territory and that the land on which we gather is the traditional territory of Anishinaabeg, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota and Dene peoples and the homeland of the Red River Métis.

#### **Received as Information**

- Collective Bargaining Update.
- COVID-19 Update.
- Manitoba Education Education Action Plan.
- Lions KidSight Program.

#### PRESENTATION

Senior Years Staff and Students - Thinking Classrooms in Mathematics.

#### Approved

- That the Board supports the EA's of 7Oaks request to obtain a social occasion permit to hold a wine and cheese reception to celebrate retirees and 25 years of service recipients on Tuesday, May 31, 2022 from 5:00 pm to 9:00 pm in the Maples Commons.
- That the Board supports the Board Office Retirement Committee's request to obtain a social occasion permit to hold a retirement celebration on Thursday, June 23, 2022 from 4:00 p.m. to 9:00 p.m. in the Maples Commons.
- That the Board supports the SOPAC Hall of Fame Committee's request to obtain a social occasion permit to hold a reception on Thursday, October 20, 2022 from 5:00 p.m. to 10:00 p.m. at the Seven Oaks Performing Arts Centre.

#### Approved for Payment

- Invoice No. 105069 toward the OV Jewitt Boiler Replacement in the amount of \$681.72 be paid to KGS Group.
- Invoice No. 19948 toward the Garden City Site Works in the amount of \$715.48 be paid to Scatliff + Miller + Murray Inc.
- Invoice No. GCC-SITE-COP#6 toward the Garden City Site Works in the amount of \$11,655.00 be paid to Maple Leaf Construction (1978) Ltd.
- 7.5% Statutory Holdback on Certificate of Payment No. GCC-SITE-COP#6 toward the Garden City Site Works in the amount of \$900.00 be held for future payment to Maple Leaf Construction (1978) Ltd. upon expiry date of the holdback period and satisfactory lien search.
- Invoice No. MAP-LED-COP#7 toward the Expanded Capital Projects in the amount of \$33,566.85 be paid to Nor-Tec Group.
- 7.5% Statutory Holdback on Certificate of Payment No. MAP-LED-COP#7 toward the Expanded Capital Projects in the amount of \$2,430.03 be held for future payment to Nor-Tec Group upon expiry date of the holdback period and satisfactory lien search.

 Cheques #2221287 to #2221489 and #1547 to #1554, US cheques #222049 to #222054, direct deposits #202207025 to #202208147, and pre-authorized debits #2022277 to #2022318 in the amount of \$10,174,521.05 be approved.

## Correspondence

- Dan Turner, Assistant General Secretary Labour Relations, MTS. Manitoba Teachers' Society gives notice of its intention to commence bargaining.
- Justin Rempel, Director, Human Resources Services & Provincial Bargaining. Thank you for meeting to discuss local teacher collective bargaining.
- Breanne Nemez, School Development Officer, Terry Fox Foundation. Seven Oaks schools raised \$15,342.99 for cancer research.
- Réjeanne Dorge, Real Estate Associate, City of Winnipeg Planning, Property & Development. Proposed sale of 43 Doubleday Drive.
- West St. Paul Zoning By-Law Amendment ZBA 2022-05. Information for West St. Paul Zoning By-law Amendment No. 2022-05 "P" which includes: First Reading Resolution, a copy of the By-law; and a memo provided to Council at First Reading.

## **Personnel Report**

- Kristen Koshelanyk was appointed to the position of Student Services Director effective September 6, 2022.
- Howard Kowalchuk was appointed to the position of Principal, Collège Garden City Collegiate, effective September 6, 2022.
- Andrea Macdonald was appointed to the position of Student Services Director effective September 6, 2022.
- Heather Marks was appointed to the position of Principal, West Kildonan Collegiate, effective September 6, 2022.
- Sumit Sharda was appointed to the position of Student Services Director effective September 6, 2022.
- Ben Carr was granted personal leave effective September 6, 2022, to June 30, 2023.
- The following teachers were appointed to a full-time (1.00) Limited Teacher-General (Term) contract effective April 27, 2022 to June 30, 2022: Peter Obendoerfer, Jonathan Rhoda.
- The following teachers were appointed to a full-time (1.00) Limited Teacher-General (Term) contract effective May 2, 2022 to June 30, 2022: Janelle Ablao, Samantha Bergal, Pam Figueroa, Gord Homenick.
- The following teachers were appointed to a full-time (1.00) Limited Teacher-General (Term) contract effective September 6, 2022 to June 30, 2023, Marco Desamero, Navdeep Dhaliwal, Alexandra Pustogorodsky.
- Penda Diagne EP Ndiaye was appointed to a full-time (1.00) Teacher-General (Permanent) contract effective September 6, 2022.
- Mehran Husseini was appointed to a full-time (1.00) Limited Teacher-General (Term) contract effective March 21, 2022 to June 30, 2022.
- Sian Leonard was appointed to a full-time (1.00) Limited Teacher-General (Term) contract effective April 26, 2022 to June 30, 2022.

- Joyce Mackay was appointed to a full-time (1.00) Limited Teacher-General (Indefinite Term) contract effective April 25, 2022.
- The following teachers were granted a full-time (1.00) leave of absence, without pay, effective September 6, 2022, to June 30, 2023: Anthony Fiorentino, Jennifer Gillespie, Anita Perrett.
- Paul Olson gave notice of intent to retire effective June 30, 2022.
- Jess Mohr gave notice of intent to resign effective June 30, 2022.
- Rescinded Motion #20B-111: Penda Diagne EP Ndiaye was appointed to a full-time (1.00) Limited Teacher-General (Term) contract effective September 6, 2022 to June 30, 2023.
- Terry Hyde was appointed to a Part-time (.50) bus driver position effective April 11, 2022.
- Amy Desjarlais gave notice of intent to resign effective April 20, 2022.
- The following Teachers were appointed to a Substitute Teacher contract effective the 2021-2022 school year.

**Camille Antonio** Jacintha Antonio Coleen Austria Geremie Awa Erin Bay Jenna Bennett Duyen Chau Cass Christiuk Suzanne Cobb Monique Cruz Melanie Daligdig Val Dayanghirang Chrizel Dimaapi Nora Fien Braeden Freund Breanna Gans Carson Gudz Tamara Ingram Dana Kapoostinsky James Korba Ryan Kennedy

Adrianna Krawczuk Brendan Labarre Kyle Laggo Manalia Lepage Shawn Masesar Kayla Matias Cameron McKenzie-Roche Anielica Molino Meagan Nenka Oluwakemi Oludapo Abiola Opeyemi Tristen Ostrowski Morgan Pisni-Ray David Quanbury Rachel Robinson Daniel Jack Roeder Erik Rogalka Kasandra Sampson Allyson Spencer Genevieve Wheeler Erica Wiebe